Raines Returns, Speaks About Somerset Fallout

To say Tim Raines, Jr. was a disappointment with the Somerset Patriots would be putting it kindly.  But to say there wasn’t some disappointment from Tim Raines, Jr. when it comes to the Somerset Patriots, well…

“Things were said when I came here, and it just was a little different,” he said.

“I think the communication was off.  But I wasn’t playing very well, so I think that had probably had a lot to do with it, too.  But I had a great time here.”

The former major leaguer’s time with the team came to an abrupt end when he was dealt to the Newark Bears on August 9, a story first reported by Ryan Dunleavy of The Courier News.  At the time, Patriots manager Sparky Lyle told Dunleavy that: “He wasn’t happy with his playing time or his (low) spot in the order.”

When asked directly about that being an issue, Raines took a long pause.

“I guess so.  I guess you could say that,” he said.

Another revelation in the Courier News story was that Raines didn’t sit in the Patriots dugout the day before he was ultimately dealt, and that he went to Patriots director of player personnel Brett Jodie asking to be traded to the Bears, having already cleaned out his locker.

“I went out exactly the way I wanted to,” Raines said.

“We had talked before.  It wasn’t just like one day, ‘I’m out.’  I had talked to (Brett) before, and I talked to Sparky, too.  I think it went about as professional as it could have went.”

At the time of the move, Raines’ .241 batting average was second-worst on the team among active players, and he’d added six home runs and 27 RBI over the course of 86 games.  As he suggested, his performance had something to do with his demise in Somerset, but with a short roster and father Tim Raines managing the Bears, going to Newark seems to be the perfect scenario to turn things around for him.

“Any place where I was going to play every day and be somewhere up in the top of the lineup was what was ideal for me,” Raines said.

“It just so happened that it was with Newark.”

Any extra motivation against his old team now that he’s moved on?

“No, man.  This is like any other game,” he said.

“I want to go out there and perform and help my team win.  It’s a little weird knowing that all my boys are on (the other) side, though.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

One Response to “Raines Returns, Speaks About Somerset Fallout”

  1. Tweets that mention Raines Returns, Speaks About Somerset Fallout « PatriotsBaseball.com -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jessica Quiroli, Mike Ashmore. Mike Ashmore said: Tim Raines, Jr. talks about his contentious trade from the @SOMPatriots: http://bit.ly/aaP4GO […]

Leave a Reply

