Game 49: Post-Game Notes

SPARKY LYLE

“That was pretty ugly, to say the least.  We’ve been scratching up some wins.  They scored ten runs today, you know we’re not winning those games.  Outside of what we did in Lancaster, which was against a team that’s nowhere near as good as this team…I really thought we’d get Mannix yesterday, he was behind almost everybody.  But we kept swinging at (stuff) up in the zone.”

“You throw those pitches to these guys (like Jiannetti) and that’s what they’re here for.  We just didn’t do the job, that’s all there is to it.  You never like to lose, but you lose 5-3, 6-4, whatever…to just go out there and walk (freaking) guys, get behind them…that’s what kind of been carrying us, the pitching hasn’t been giving up a lot of runs.  So it’s catching up with us right now.  Hopefully we can get Pressley going.  We’ve got Miller going tomorrow…hopefully he can get us through five and we’ll go from there.”

JOE JIANNETTI

“I just got lucky (against Somerset), I guess.  Right timing.”

“I saw the ball good today.  I really haven’t played in a while, I haevn’t been playing a lot.  I played yesterday in the second game of the doubleheader and before that, it’s been a week.  I don’t know, it just kind of slowed everything down for me maybe.  Maybe that helped out a little bit.  But I saw the ball well.”

“I started out slow, then I got hot for a little bit, then I didn’t play every day and went slow again.  It’s been a back and forth battle.  Maybe taking a couple days off was a good thing.  I don’t have to like it.”

“It’s big, because we had a tough road trip; we won the first game and the last game of an eight game trip.  We lost a lot of games.  We just need to get back on top and play together, regardless of whether it’s Somerset or Lancaster or whoever we play.  It happened to be a good Somerset team, but we’ve just got to play together and build on this.”

“I hope (this turns our season around), it would be nice.  It’s a lot more fun to play baseball and win.”

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

Leave a Reply

