Game 46: Pre-Game Notes

6:10 PM — Lineups are in…

SOMERSET

Wayne Lydon, CF
Tim Raines, Jr., 2B
Noah Hall, RF
Matt Hagen, 3B
Michael Hernandez, LF
Joe Burke, 1B
Elliott Ayala, SS
J.R. Hopf, C
David Housel, DH

Justin Jones, P

BRIDGEPORT

Adam Greenberg, CF
Brandon Chaves, SS
Steve Moss, LF
Charlton Jimerson, DH
Wily Mo Pena, 1B
Luis Lopez, 3B
Brian Barton, RF
Victor Rodriguez, 2B
Todd Jennings, C

Luis Arroyo, P

5:50 PM — Spoke to Josh Pressley, who as I mentioned is active for today’s game but not in the lineup.  Here’s what he had to say about how he feels and his impending return to the lineup…

“I feel good.  I’m trying to take it easy and work my way back in.  Right now, I feel like I’m ready to go.  I’ve felt like I’ve been ready to go for the past couple days, but we’re trying to take it real slow so that once I get in there, I’ll be in there for a while.”

“Last year was just something that was nagging all year long.  I just kind of had to find the fine line of playing through it and taking some days, and I was probably a little over aggressive with it.  This year, it’s a different animal…the back is a little different than a foot or a hamstring.  It’s a little more of a touchy situation.  It’s just kind of a day to day thing right now, but I’m just trying to get some at-bats and get in there, but at the same time be smart about it.”

“I’m not really sure what the game plan is.  The plan, I think, is depending on how I feel, maybe sneak me into a game and maybe go every other day for a couple days and just see how it progresses.  It’s really just going to depend on how I feel when I wake up the day after a game.  It’s a day by day thing right now.”

“I’m ready to go.  I’m right around 100 percent.”

“I’m not really limited, no.  It’s just doing the little things to get ready for the game and trusting them.  With something like your back, you’ve kind of got to jump in the pool to see if you can swim.  Everything feels good in BP.  I was kind of feeling for the ball a little bit, but once I started trusting it, it felt good and I started letting it go.  I think more than anything, it’s the mental hurdle of knowing I’m all right.  But physically, I feel fine.”

4:45 PM — Yes, kids…it’s the welcome to Bridgeport edition of the pre-game notes here on PatriotsBaseball.com.  Stay tuned for in-game updates and so on.  As for now, both Josh Pressley and Jerry Dunn have been activated to the active Somerset roster.  Vito Chiaravalloti has been deactivated.

I’ll go down to the field and get some info a bit…

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com

One Response to “Game 46: Pre-Game Notes”

  1. Devin McC Says:

    David Housel at DH? Ooooooookay.

Leave a Reply

